Alaska index · last changed 14 September 2026

Alaska data centers: what the public record shows.

Selected source-linked records are published below. This is not a complete inventory of Alaska data centers.

1 published DataCenterData record · evidence status shown per row3 licensed directory leads · not independently verifiedAK

Explore Alaska

Map, listings and checked facts.

Start with 3 licensed source leads, then inspect the separate public-evidence layer below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and are not a statewide census.

Alaska map

Reported locations in Alaska

3 licensed rows · 2 source localities · 2 map targets

Open interactive map
Source-reported points; some are approximate. Not parcel boundaries. Exact Approximate or representative Bounded nearby group
Browse 2 mapped areas as links
Map sources and method

The state outline is adapted from the U.S. Census Bureau 2025 cartographic boundary file. Facility coordinates are adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Outline and markers use one geographic projection before any explicitly disclosed readability offset. Exact singleton source anchors are never moved. A one-kilometre boundary tolerance prevents the simplified 1:20,000,000 outline from hiding legitimate border-area source points; farther conflicts are disclosed, not clamped. DataCenterData groups source-reported city coordinates only within a bounded map radius; the outline does not validate a facility record.

3 licensed rows1 reported city labels3 eligible organization labels

Browse all 3 rows below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and remain separate from the checked public-evidence layer.

  1. source-reported operationalCapacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
    View facility →dcd-dir-000030
  2. source-reported operationalCapacity not statedSource updated 12 September 2026approximate location
    View facility →dcd-dir-000692

Alaska evidence at a glance

A few checked sites

Selected public evidence, not a statewide census. Each row shows whether it is independently source-linked, attributed, or unresolved; licensed leads remain separate.

Published project / campus
1
Published facility / building
0
Attributed or unresolved rows
0
Licensed directory leads
3 not independently verified
Capacity boundary stated
1 of 1 published DataCenterData rows
Review timing
Audit through 14 September 2026 · next 13 March 2027
Known coverage gap

commerce.alaska.gov could not be retrieved during review, so state incentive and tax credit programs were not reviewed.

Browse all 3 Alaska licensed leads → · Why these counts differ →

Campuses

1 campus record. Names are as they appear on each record page.

STAK Energy CampusDeveloper: STAK Energy Corporation proposedcampus · Alaska DNR ADL 422741 preliminary state-land decision dated 2026-05-12 upper end of stated 1–3 GW design range 3 GWonsite generation planned · campus scopeDNR describes a planned onsite natural-gas generation system designed for 1–3 GW and a behind-the-meter configuration in which the HPC facility would consume generated electricity onsite. 3,000 MW is only the upper end of that planned generation-design range. It is not critical-IT capacity, utility-request or approved-service capacity, measured or current load, grid export, built generation, permitted generation, or an aggregation input. Alaska DNR public notice — ADL 422741, STAK Energy Corporation →Gov. record

Where the records were checked

Statewide audit pending

A few checked sites

This is not a list of every data center in the state, and the number here is not a count of them. There are almost certainly more.

Statewide coverage is not complete. The records below are sourced; a full statewide count has not been published.

State research audit window ended 14 September 2026. Individual records and claims below show their own evidence dates and may be newer.

Next scheduled review: 13 March 2027.

1 independently source-linked project/campus record; 0 independently source-linked facility/building records; 0 attributed or unresolved rows. These counts use different units and must not be added together.

Source families checked, selected records and remaining gaps

These notes name selected records, say which kinds of public evidence were checked and show what remains missing. They do not add anything to the published counts.

  • economic development incentives — Partly checked
    • commerce.alaska.gov could not be retrieved during review, so state incentive and tax credit programs were not reviewed.
    • Alaska Legislature bill tracking was not searched for data center legislation.
    • No AIDEA board packet or meeting minute was opened.

    Selected records

  • utility commission large load — Partly checked
    • rca.alaska.gov could not be retrieved during review; no docket, order or tariff was searched.
    • Golden Valley Electric Association, Chugach Electric and Matanuska Electric large-load or cryptocurrency-mining tariffs were not examined.
    • No utility integrated resource plan or load forecast was read.
  • environmental construction permits — Partly checked
    • dec.alaska.gov could not be retrieved during review, so no air permit list or search was reached.
    • The public-notice keyword search remained unreliable; the STAK land records were reopened later by exact notice and attachment IDs.
    • No wastewater, stormwater or gravel-extraction permit search was run for the North Slope site.

    Selected records

  • municipal planning assessor gis — Partly checked
    • No borough development permit, zoning case or assembly ordinance was retrieved.
    • The borough GIS portal (gis-public.north-slope.org) was not queried for the lease parcel.
    • Anchorage and Fairbanks North Star Borough planning and permit systems were not searched, so urban Alaska data center activity is uncovered.

    Selected records

  • tax abatement development agreements — Partly checked
    • No Final Finding and Decision, appeal disposition, entry authorization or perfected lease was retrieved for ADL 422741.
    • No borough property tax abatement or payment-in-lieu arrangement was searched.
    • DNR's broader Land Administration System was not used to establish a later disposition; exact published records were reviewed instead.

    Selected records

  • operator disclosures — Partly checked
    • Alaska Communications, Alaska Power & Telephone, Quintillion, university and federal computing facilities were not checked.
    • Hyperscaler location pages (Amazon Web Services, Microsoft, Google, Meta, Oracle, Apple) were not checked for Alaska presence.
    • No Anchorage, Fairbanks or Juneau colocation operator page was examined.

    Selected records

  • open datasets directories — Checked
    • Directory listings (Data Center Map, Baxtel, datacenters.com, PeeringDB) were not yet reviewed directly for Alaska, so Anchorage and Fairbanks colocation is entirely uncovered.

    Selected records

  • historical closures withdrawals names — Partly checked
    • The Alaska Beacon article behind the 715.4-acre figure is blocked by Cloudflare.
    • Northern Journal has moved to Anchorage Press, whose search archive returns no Stak Energy results, so the originating reporting was not read.
    • No sweep for abandoned Alaska cryptocurrency-mining conversions was possible.

    Selected records

  • news and other discovery — Partly checked
    • A broader Alaska news sweep was not completed, so unrelated or later projects may remain undiscovered.

    Selected records