Virginia index · last changed 19 September 2026

Virginia data centers: what the public record shows.

Selected source-linked records are published below. This is not a complete inventory of Virginia data centers.

10 published DataCenterData records · evidence status shown per row139 licensed directory leads · not independently verifiedVA

Explore Virginia

Map, listings and checked facts.

Start with 139 licensed source leads, then inspect the separate public-evidence layer below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and are not a statewide census.

Virginia map

Reported locations in Virginia

139 licensed rows · 58 source localities · 5 map targets

Open interactive map
Source-reported points; some are approximate. Not parcel boundaries. Exact Approximate or representative Bounded nearby group3 symbols are offset slightly for readability; thin connectors retain their projected anchors. Open the interactive map for source coordinates.
Browse 5 mapped areas as links
Map sources and method

The state outline is adapted from the U.S. Census Bureau 2025 cartographic boundary file. Facility coordinates are adapted from Compute Atlas by Edward Kubiak, edition 1.33.0, under CC BY 4.0. Outline and markers use one geographic projection before any explicitly disclosed readability offset. Exact singleton source anchors are never moved. A one-kilometre boundary tolerance prevents the simplified 1:20,000,000 outline from hiding legitimate border-area source points; farther conflicts are disclosed, not clamped. DataCenterData groups source-reported city coordinates only within a bounded map radius; the outline does not validate a facility record.

139 licensed rows45 reported city labels71 eligible organization labels

Browse all 139 rows below. Licensed rows are not independently verified and remain separate from the checked public-evidence layer.

  1. source-reported cancelledCapacity not statedSource updated 27 August 2026approximate location
    View facility →dcd-dir-001114
  2. source-reported permittedCapacity not statedSource updated 26 July 2026approximate location
    View facility →dcd-dir-000074

Virginia evidence at a glance

Some questions answerable

Selected public evidence, not a statewide census. Each row shows whether it is independently source-linked, attributed, or unresolved; licensed leads remain separate.

Published project / campus
9
Published facility / building
1
Attributed or unresolved rows
0
Licensed directory leads
139 not independently verified
Capacity boundary stated
0 of 10 published DataCenterData rows
Review timing
Audit through 11 September 2026 · next 18 November 2026
Known coverage gap

No public list of DCRSUT memorandum-of-understanding signatories or their localities.

Browse all 139 Virginia licensed leads → · Why these counts differ →

Projects, Campuses, and Operating facilities

2 campus records · 7 project records · 1 operating facility record. Names are as they appear on each record page.

Google Data Center Campus — Botetourt Center at GreenfieldDeveloper: Google; exact legal entity not stated approvedcampus UnknownNo independently supported figure Botetourt County Google Data Center project page →Gov. record
EdgeCore Shannon Hill Data Center ProjectDeveloper: EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure proposedproject UnknownNo independently supported figure Louisa County Sale of Shannon Hill Regional Business Park →Gov. record
Solis Arx / Fluidstack Progress Park ProjectDeveloper: Solis Arx; acquired by Fluidstack according to Wythe County proposedproject UnknownNo independently supported figure Solis Arx/Fluidstack — Progress Park project page →Gov. record
Pairmont Data Center Campus proposedproject UnknownNo independently supported figure Spotsylvania County Planning Department March 2026 status report →Gov. record
Massaponax Tech Campus proposedproject UnknownNo independently supported figure Spotsylvania County Planning Department March 2026 status report →Gov. record
Thornburg Industrial Park 2 proposedproject UnknownNo independently supported figure Spotsylvania County Planning Department March 2026 status report →Gov. record
Mineral Gap Data Center operatingoperating facility UnknownNo independently supported figure Data Centers — Wise County Economic Development →Gov. record
Google Bermuda Hundred Data Center Campus constructioncampus · Chesterfield County data-center project status table as of July 2026, Peanut LLC row UnknownNo independently supported figureNo selected county record states critical-IT, utility-request, utility-service, generation, gross-facility, company-design or measured-load MW. The county's 6.000 MGD maximum public water use for this row is water, not IT load, and is not published as capacity. Chesterfield County Data Centers — Project Status as of July 2026 →Gov. record
Google Upper Magnolia Green Data Center Project approvedproject · Chesterfield County data-center project status table as of July 2026, Upper Magnolia Green row UnknownNo independently supported figureNo selected county record states critical-IT or other MW. Tract A acreage is described site area, not capacity. The county's 1.755 MGD maximum public water use is water, not IT load. Chesterfield County Data Centers — Project Status as of July 2026 →Gov. record
Google Watkins Centre Data Center Project approvedproject · Chesterfield County data-center project status table as of July 2026, Watkins Centre row UnknownNo independently supported figureNo selected county record states critical-IT or other MW. The 349.97-acre figure is rezoning site area, not capacity. The county's 0.850 MGD maximum public water use is water, not IT load. Chesterfield County Data Centers — Project Status as of July 2026 →Gov. record

Where the records were checked

Statewide audit pending

Enough to answer questions

This is still not a list of every data center in the state.

Statewide coverage is not complete. The records below are sourced; a full statewide count has not been published.

State research audit window ended 11 September 2026. Individual records and claims below show their own evidence dates and may be newer.

Next scheduled review: 18 November 2026.

9 independently source-linked project/campus records; 1 independently source-linked facility/building record; 0 attributed or unresolved rows. These counts use different units and must not be added together.

Source families checked, selected records and remaining gaps

These notes name selected records, say which kinds of public evidence were checked and show what remains missing. They do not add anything to the published counts.